Zen On Dirt

Cracking the Code

6 Comments

I had a pretty good morning when I got out of bed today.  I got up, put some bike shorts on, puttered around upstairs to find my headphones and bike shoes, cursed for a while when I could find neither, and eventually got on the trainer for Fat Kids Kamp trainer time and proceeded to daydream for 28 minutes.

IMG_0250I walked my backyard hill in reverse today.  It totally blew my mind.

I then puttered upstairs to find that my brother had cooked up a breakfast of bacon, eggs, bell peppers, onions, and spinach (and I wonder why I have to go to Fat Kids Kamp), scooped a plateful of his concoction up, and sat down to peruse Facebook.

Then there it was, a conversation between Drunk Cyclist and Devon: Riding in Iceland.  When are we going?  Holy cow, that would be soooooo cooooooool! *I* want to go ride in Iceland.  And New Zealand.  And Australia, and the Himalayas, and Patagonia, and Alaska, and Arizona, and New Mexico, and countless places in Colorado that I haven’t visited yet.

IMG_3806Another corner of this fairy-land Universe.

I’m setting a new life goal!  I declared to the dogs (who, admittedly, didn’t really care).  I want to ride in as many cool, new places as I can in this lifetime.  And I want to eat good food while doing it!

My first thought was ‘I need to get started.  Right now!’ and then I reminded myself that in under six weeks, I would be riding in a cool (cold) new place so I should exercise a little restraint and get my life together for that first.  And then I started pondering the feasibility of the life I wanted.

IMG_3835I want to see new places, ride new trails, and search for Unicorn Dust.

When I first came back to Boulder, in the midst of quite possibly the worst depression that I’d ever experienced (and I’ve gone through some pretty down periods in my life) I couldn’t answer the question of ‘If money was no object, what would you do with your life?’  I tried on all sorts of imaginary costumes, quite possibly the most absurd being looking into law school for patent law, simply because I was sick of being broke and their starting salaries are something like $125K per year.  I had some other good ones, but in hindsight, that one makes me laugh the most.

And then I slowly clawed myself out of the hole that I was in.  I slipped back down a couple of times, but eventually found myself again on steady ground, if on slightly shaky legs.  I want to ride! I want to race!  I want to travel!  I want to write!  I declared.

IMG_3838I want to do the absurd, the silly, the unexpected.  I want to participate fully in everything that life has to offer.

You are not independently wealthy, my mom reminded me.  But people do it!  I’m surrounded by people following their dreams and ‘making it’.  I see AmyH teaching yoga.  I see EddieClark getting to follow the Tour Divide and take pictures.  I see Mara getting to race her bike on her terms.  I see Andras living at the Olympic Training Center while going back to get his MBA.  I see Jill writing while adventuring.  I see Walt building frames.  I see Scott being completely mobile and playing in the desert in the winter and Colorado in the summer.

All these people, doing what they love, doing life…creatively.  And they make it work.  There’s a code to it.  I need to crack this code.  How do I travel, ride, write, and seek happiness all over the world, sustainably?  I need to figure this out before I get suckered into a real job.

IMG_3945

6 thoughts on “Cracking the Code

  1. I did a short tour in Iceland before a scientific conference once. it is totally awesome. Every village has a bath house and saunas. You can camp legally just about anywhere. And in the middle of summer, you can just keep on riding and riding and riding, through tunnels and across glacial outflow channels and lava flows, until you realize you’ve had lunch five times, and it’s midnight, and the sun is just hiding behind that hill for an hour or two before “morning”.

    Somehow I’m almost making it work. Getting paid for 12 hours a week to understand renewable energy policy. Which leaves plenty of time to ride bikes and read and cook and snuggle. If I could somehow get it up to 24 paid hours a week I think I’d be set :)

  2. For what it’s worth, you can live in a cool place, and ride, travel, race, write, and more while having a full time regular job that pays well . it’s all about what you prioritize in your life

  3. First of all, I’m sorry you had to ride a trainer – that’s a bummer, but then BACON! – YES!!!, and then The Book of Faces – that’s another bummer, but then Revelation (sort of). I suppose there’s quite a few (of us, me included) who try to find their own personal balance between an acceptable level of poverty or wealth, freedom to do whatever or chained to a job. There’s a very select few who can combine this all into an actual paying gig. It will be interesting to see how you crack the code and make it work for you. Good luck!

  4. Dream it, make a plan and write it down. And then go for it! You only have one life. Enjoy it. Live it your way and you won’t have any regrets.

  5. Spot on with this write-up, I absolutely believe that this amazing site needs far more attention. I’ll probably be back again to see more, thanks for the information!

  6. Having read this I believed it was extremely informative. I appreciate you finding the time and energy to put this article together. I once again find myself personally spending a significant amount of time both reading and commenting. But so what, it was still worth it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 78 other followers