Zen On Dirt

The AK sideshows

2 Comments

Sometimes I have a story to tell.  Sometimes I just have a life observation to share.  Sometimes I’m just in the process of recovery from the cold which knocked me squarely on my ass when it’s nearly 70 degrees out and have a few more pictures I want to put on the internets.  Today is one of those days.

IMG_4643

I think some people are under the false impression that I know what I’m doing when it comes to bikepacking.  In the end, I’m as much of a junk-show as anyone else out there.

IMG_4651

Anchorage may be lacking in the sunshine department, but their snowbiking trails are pretty stellar. Huge thanks to Sharon for taking me out.

IMG_4652

Alaska: Colorado on steroids, without the 300 days of sunshine.

 

IMG_4666

Pony likes it here.  Pony will also like it in the sands of the desert.

IMG_0001

The finish of the prolog of the actual Iditarod.  The doggies are soooo stinkin’ cute.

 

 

IMG_0005_2

More Anchorage snow biking.  This place looks way different in the winter than the summer.

IMG_0006_2

There is blue sky in Anchorage!  And with enough Vitamin I, I could even pull off a post ITI birthday ride!

IMG_0010

There is magic here.  I can’t wait to come back.

IMG_0019

The Great Race.  Eric made skiing look fun and firmly smoked us in the speed category.  Luckily, he fed us brownies afterwards.

Recovery has been a bit rough this past week.  The body finally gave up the resistance to the Crud that I had been OCD in avoiding leading up to AK.  I guess it was inevitable, race ITI, take a red-eye home from Anchorage, teach sick kids for two days…yeah.  Today has been the first day that my head hasn’t been in a fog since…well, since I woke up ITI start morning.  I can always tell when mental recovery takes a big step forward because I start getting excited about the next set of adventures instead of bemoaning the list of Life Chores that I have to catch up on.  In celebration, I packed up 90% of my winter gear for the year, tucked away in a box, not to be touched again until 2014.  I’m so ready for spring and warmth.  This next month is going to be good, Tucson, Prescott, Fruita, oh my…as soon as I can kick this stupid Crud.  Goooooo immune system!

2 thoughts on “The AK sideshows

  1. I really enjoyed your ITI Race Report! It was nice to get a glimpse into what you were thinking, it sounded like a really tough race and I’m glad you got to break the record in the end! You are a fierce competitor!!!

    • Ez! Is it my imagination or has that pup got the eye on all your left over food??

      Spring has sprung gal!

      Great effort on the ITI. NOW… you KNOW!
      :-)

      B

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers