Zen On Dirt

Desert Vibrance

Leave a comment

We were out and about yesterday when someone asked me when I’d be back in Tucson.  I had to stop and think for a minute because aside from a whirlwind trip I’ll be taking down here in a few weeks, I won’t be back until next fall.  The only reason this struck me as so absurd is because over the past nine days, this place has taken on the very distinct feel of ‘home’ and the thought of going away from ‘home’ for the next six months seemed foreign.

In a life trajectory that I would have never predicted four months ago, the desert has stolen my heart.

IMG_0182
I’m going to miss Starr Pass.

IMG_0183
I’m going to miss Scott posing like a saguaro next to an actual saguaro (especially now that I can spell saguaro on my first try).

IMG_0186

I’m going to miss the rocks.

IMG_0188

And the flowers.  Oh, the flowers!

IMG_0195 IMG_0193 IMG_0198 IMG_0200 IMG_0214I’m very much going to miss the desert in the springtime.

IMG_0211

I’m going to miss this place that feels so alien, so different, and so full of surprises.

IMG_0219

I guess it’s good that I get one more trip back here, one where I get to fully embrace all that the desert has to offer, the good, the bad, and most likely, the hot.  And then I’ll be ready to embrace the cool of the Colorado mountains.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76 other followers