Zen On Dirt

5 girls, 3 rides, 3 questions

1 Comment

IMG_0317

Every December, we start the chatter: What weekend is going to work for the Annual Girls Trip to Fruita?  We toss around some dates, find one that works for everyone, and then show up to Campsite 16 in the James Robb campground in Fruita to ride bikes, eat good food, and relish the sun and warmth of the desert.  The beauty of this trip (besides the riding) is that it’s a yearly event that allows us (me?) to take stock of what has happened in the past year more so than New Years, solstice, or birthdays.

IMG_0321

I guess this event proved to be even more significant for me since last years AGTF was in the middle of a series of events that I consider the beginning of a major life change that occurred six months later.  A year ago, I wouldn’t have even remotely predicted the events of the past twelve months.

IMG_0344

IMG_0347

Life is funny that way.

IMG_0323

So while sitting in the sun after a glorious day of riding rocks, we found ourselves playing a game of questions: In the past year, what are you most proud of?  What did you let go of?  And what you do want to manifest more of in the next year?

IMG_0349

What am I most proud of?  Making the hardest decision I’ve ever had to make and making it by listening to my heart and not out of anger or frustration. It led to a period of misery for sure, but I clawed my way out of that hole, often times feeling like I was taking two steps backward for every one step forward. I’m proud of how I reacted to it. How I recovered from it.

IMG_0331

What did I let go of?  I let go of a lot of fear, fear that I had royally screwed my life over when I left Crested Butte.  I let go of the fear of stigma, that I would never find happiness again.

IMG_0335

What do I want to manifest more of in the next year?  Love.  Laughter.  Putting myself in situations to watch beautiful sunrises and sunsets.  Full moon adventures.  To create a situation that I can make my plans for 2014 a reality.  To live presently.  To see miracles in everything and remember that we are all just doing the best we can.  To act with grace and calm.  And to remember that not knowing what’s going to happen next is part of the excitement of life, and the exciting life is better than the boring one.

IMG_0343

Who knows what we’ll be talking about next April when we reconvene.  I’m not even going to pretend to predict.

IMG_0369

One thought on “5 girls, 3 rides, 3 questions

  1. EZZZZZZ! Beautifully beautifully said. Love. Laughter. Sunrise. Sunsets. Moon light adventures and to be present. Sent shivers up my spine! YES and YES and some more YES ;-) X

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers