Zen On Dirt

A week

2 Comments

It’s been almost a week since I rolled up to Picket Post down in AZ.  In some aspects, it feels like an eternity, and in other ways, it seems like yesterday.  Time is funny that way.  I’m on my final day of bed-rest recovery and it’s going to feel so good to get out and ride and do some yoga tomorrow!

IMG_0441

Bobo’s Breakfast!  Apple pancakes, bacon, sausage, and eggs!

I spent Monday and Tuesday recovering with Scott in Tucson.  For having felt like I didn’t ride hard enough, my body completely shut down pretty quick after I finished.  I spent Monday nursing a roasted neck, chapped lips, and a raw mouth in addition to sore legs, bruised hands, and a sore rear.  Luckily, I was still able to eat brunch at Bobo’s and dinner at Mi Ranchito where I got the MadMaxMorris special, a red chili chimichanga.  Yeah, it was good.

Tuesday was more of the same.  Eating.  Napping.  Playing my GPX track against Scott’s run in 2012 on the computer…I got some good gaps on him when he was down fixing flat tires!  He also did the Oracle Ridge segment that took me 3.5 hours in 2.5 hours.  Whoops.  Then pizza with Lee and Joan, and it was time to get on a plane pre-dawn the next morning.  Back to work.  Back to reality.

IMG_0442

Bruised Oracle Ridge legs.  The picture doesn’t do them justice.

I kept waiting for the bottom to fall out.  LW had warned me that I’d have no energy so not to plan any weekend adventures.  Luckily, work duties kept me in town so I wasn’t even tempted.  While I did nap, the energy never crashed.  I ate lots of veggies.  I drank lots of carrot juice.  I only rode my bike to and from work.

And I feel fantastic.

IMG_0439

Scott added some details to my pony before I got to AZ to race.

After the ITI crash and burn, I keep wondering how it’s possible.  To be fair, I’m still wondering how my entire ride was possible.  I sort of feel like I pulled it out of my ass.  I was hoping to squeak in under three days, if I had a good run…but 2:13:10?  For real?  Six weeks after the total body beat down of ITI?  The human body is nothing short of amazing.  I think I’m going to ask it for one more biggie this spring…as soon as I finish this dull recovery business.  This is going to be fun.

IMG_0446

Paleo chocolate zucchini bread with coconut butter frosting.  What happens when I’m not supposed to ride.

Life is funny.  Life is unexpected.  I like it that way.

2 thoughts on “A week

  1. There’s a joy in your blog that makes it a lot of fun to read. Congratulations on yet another amazing acvomishment!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers