Zen On Dirt

Birthday Ride

3 Comments

I’m no good at birthdays.  I knew that when I left the house on Friday afternoon that I had no present for Scott’s birthday on Sunday.  Not even a card.  I was failing at traditional birthday celebrations.  Luckily, we’re not much for traditional anything and the day turned out absolutely delightfully.

It started with a visit to Patio Pancake in Salida after a night camping under ‘there’s a very significantly good chance it’s going to rain’ skies.  Bacon, eggs, and now they even have gluten-free pancakes.  Coffee.  Lots of diner coffee. While I do enjoy ‘quality’ coffee, there’s something to be said for the bottomless cup of joe in a big ceramic mug.

IMG_0481

And then down the road to meet the rest of the party at Kep’s house.  We rolled out six strong with Jj, Michelle, and Miff sometime just shy of nine, knowing that Kep needed to be back circa 11:30 for a 4-H air rifle tournament/meet/competition.  Our destination?  Vitamin B.

IMG_0482

I’d ridden Vitamin B years ago on my rigid singlespeed.  While Kep ‘rolls’ all the lines on the trail with his rigid singlespeed, I highly recommend a bigger bike.  But I distinctly remember thinking, ‘Jj would LOVE this ride!’ and so when I started thinking about where to take Scott in CO for a fitting B-day ride, I thought ‘Scott will LOVE that ride!’  Lots of tech.  Lots of rocks.  Lots of silliness.

IMG_0485 IMG_0483

The level of riding that occurred over the next several hours was nothing short of mind blowing.  Kep rolled over nearly everything, only ending up on the ground once.  Jj proved that she’s back from surgery for good.  And Scott just made everything look so damn pretty and easy.

IMG_0487

I was in awe the entire time.

IMG_0524 IMG_0523

 

It made me want to get better at riding over rocks.

IMG_0536 IMG_0529

They were pretty much on crack the entire time.  It was fun to watch.  Completely cracked out on tech.

IMG_0502 IMG_0494

Once back, Kep rolled out quickly, running only two hours late.  The girls piled back into their car for a return to Evergreen, and I suggested to Scott that we just get a snack at City Market before heading back to the front range to get some real food.  I’m pretty sure I’ve never seen him look so sad before.  No real food?  For reals?  So instead, we got some Mexican food in honor of Cinco de Mayo, which I have to admit, was way better than whatever we could have cooked up from the grocery store.

IMG_0522 IMG_0507

Back in Boulder, we capped off what turned out to be a pretty amazing birthday in proper fashion: with a cake.  A peanut butter flourless chocolate cake to be exact.  I may have some sort of domestic goddess hiding in me after all!

IMG_0543

It was a most spectacular weekend of riding and living.  Of laughing with the best of friends.  Of knowing that for the first time, our time together isn’t going to be measured in days until one of us have to go home.  Of knowing that the adventure is just starting.  That the terribly good ideas are just going to keep flowing.  And that’s exciting!

3 thoughts on “Birthday Ride

  1. Best Birthday EVER! Hands down.

  2. Vit B legal yet?

  3. JJ and Scott set the bar high when it comes to riding rocks.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers