Zen On Dirt

Mini Celebration

1 Comment

A few days ago, I stumbled upon 45 Life Lessons from a 90 Year Old.  I liked a lot of it, but #21 was my favorite: Burn the candles, use the nice sheets, wear the fancy lingerie. Don’t save
it for a special occasion. Today is special.

IMG_3927

Seeing that I got rid of all my candles during the spring purge, I’m using whatever sheets my parents put on my bed when I moved back into their basement, and I’ve never owned fancy lingerie, I felt like I needed some other way to make yesterday special.

IMG_3930

The master go-fast plan had a relatively…well, not exciting workout on it.  Two hours.  Fat bike.  Varied terrain.  Seriously…how am I supposed to do anything exciting with two hours?  Especially on the not-fasted-bike-ever.  Recovery weeks suck.

IMG_3933

But I had a leftover cookie that I’d brought back from Trader Joe’s in Tucson.  Carrot cake with cream cheese insides.  The expiration date had passed, but I was determined not to let it go to waste.  I had warm temperatures. I had inspiration.  So I went to my closest favorite high spot to celebrate.

IMG_3935

Celebrate what?  Cookies.  Bikes.  Joylovehappiness.  The Beautywild.  Fairylands filled with unicorns, angels, and sparkles.  Sunshine.  Blue skies.  Big views.  Big adventures.  Big futures.

IMG_3950

And if I started my watch when I started going uphill, and stopped it at the top, then I just barely overshot my two hour limit.  Downhill doesn’t count as ride time, does it?

IMG_3938So many things to celebrate…I don’t think I’ll ever run out.

One thought on “Mini Celebration

  1. That was SOOOOOOOOOOOO good. Celebrate: Big adventures Big futures. hella yeah!!! Rock on EZ. On your wheel of thought from afar! Miff

Leave a Reply

