Zen On Dirt

My friends do awesome stuff

2 Comments

I’m a lucky girl.

Here’s why.

I get to be surrounded by people who are passionate about what they do.

I’m a big preacher of “Do what you love” but as someone who has a love that isn’t exactly beneficial to society in a traditional sense, sometimes I worry that if every one followed their dreams, we wouldn’t have critical members of society, like doctors and teachers and researchers.

20141002-195649.jpg

But then I met up with an old friend, Claire, from Boulder while in Salt Lake. She needed a break from studying, I needed a cup of coffee. She’s in the second year of a MD/PhD program at the university here, and let me tell you, I’ve never seen anyone’s eyes light up like her when she started talking about the pancreas or mitochondria.

She said that she’d never have guessed that she’d be so into mitochondria.

I told her that most of our 8-year old selves didn’t exactly say, “When I grow up, I want to study mitochondria.”

(My eight year old self wanted to write books about horses. True story.)

But she loves it in seemingly the same way that I love riding my bike.

20141002-195732.jpg

And then we went up to visit Alexis and Dennis in Logan. Dual geology professors at the university up there, I showed them a rock that I’d found in the Great Basin. The ensuing debate on whether it was petrified wood or a rock was awesome to watch. The magnifying glass came out, crystal structure analyzed.

20141002-195807.jpg

I’ve never met anyone as into rocks as Alexis.

I’d almost say that she’s more into rocks than I’m into riding my bike.

Yeah. True story.

I had a ex-boyfriend who was more into flying RC helicopters than I thought sane. Scott and I saw him flying at the same model airport (90% certain it was him), flying planes with his dad on a Sunday, the same as he’s been doing for 15+ years. He designs self-piloting planes or something of the sort for a living these days.

Jill Homer takes on huge adventures that are way over her head and emerges alive. She then writes books that have entertained and inspired hundreds of people, myself included, to dream big.

People are doing awesome stuff. People are into awesome things.

I think the world is going to be okay, even if we all decide to follow our passions, as silly as they may seem to others.

2 thoughts on “My friends do awesome stuff

  1. Love this post! I quit my engineering job to be an artist 7 years ago. Every once in a while I wonder if I contribute as much to the world, but then I realize yes, I do – I’m doing what I love, and trying to contribute something beautiful and positive to the world.

    I read your blog (which I found through Jill’s) because I love reading about people who are out there dreaming big and making things happen. You inspire a lot of people, even if your thing might seem “silly” to other people. Thanks for posting here – your daily posts on the CDT this summer were something I looked forward to seeing in my feed every day.

  2. Sweet blog! I found it while surfing around on Yahoo News.
    Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed in Yahoo News?
    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there!

    Thank you

Leave a Reply

