Zen On Dirt

Sharing is caring

5 Comments

I’ve been having a conversation with myself recently centered around the question of ‘What would you do if no one was watching?’

Obviously, social media and blogs can have a profound effect on lives and what people choose to do. I’ve been maintaining one blog or another for nearly a decade now and The FaceBook tells me that I also joined in 2004, though it doesn’t seem like I actually did anything with it until several years later. That’s a decade of public broadcasting of my activities, censored, of course, knowing that my parents read it, and really, they don’t have to know some of the situations I’ve gotten myself into over the years.

IMG_0434

Of course, we could argue the benefits and detriments of social media until Scott learns to like beer (never), but I’ve definitely used it as inspiration to do some of the things I do.

I like doing cool shit and then telling a story about it.

I like it when other people do cool shit and then come back and write about it and make me want to go do cool shit.

Of course, the negative side of this is that there’s a line of doing things because we want to and doing it because we want to go home and have a story to tell.

So I’ve spent some time thinking, ‘If I took an Internet hiatus and stopped writing, what would I do?’

IMG_0442

This, of course, was spawned from having a million ideas of what I want to do in the next 12 months and having no clear frontrunner.

But after some pondering, the question sort of reframed itself: What would you do if you didn’t care if you failed?

Nobody likes to fail in the public eye.

Enter running. Scott was the instigator of this one because, apparently, he doesn’t really feel like riding his bike all that much these days either.

I suck at running. The fastest mile I’ve ever run is 8:15 in highschool. I thought I was pretty quick. But all in all, I’m slow, I’m uncoordinated, I dawdle when I walk, and I trip all over myself, especially downhill. Dying moose. I’d say I resemble a dying moose.

But the beauty of it is, I’m fully okay with sucking. I don’t care if people look at me and say, ‘Ooh, she should probably stop because that just looks painful and she’s going to knock all her teeth out when she trips over that rock.’ There is absolutely no ego attachment to my running shoes.

IMG_0446

And right now, for me, that’s awesome because I don’t feel like any one expects anything from me in the form of a good adventure and a good story. I don’t expect anything from me. I don’t need to go ride the CDT to feel like I did something cool, going out and running 3 miles on the backyard trails at under a 10 min/mile pace was HUGE!

So I think I’m going to run for a while. Take some pictures. And hopefully be able to tell some good stories. Because I like sharing. And I think running could take me to some really cool places where I have no desire to drag my bike to.

5 thoughts on “Sharing is caring

  1. See … this is how it starts.

  2. You could hike the entire Pacific Crest Trail next season…. That would keep you off the bike for months. It might be a good way to see if the bike love comes back and stuff.

  3. Ooh, new adventures! One of the things I love most about running is that you (I) can go out and get in a good workout in a half hour. If I don’t ride my bike for at least an hour it seems almost like a waste of time. Looking forward to hearing about what comes next. And for me, I enjoy your stories regardless of the ending. Fail or succeed, you tell a good story and spread inspiration.

  4. About 6 years ago, after 20 years of bike racing, I started running again. I was a sprinter in high school, 100-200 meters. Anything over 1 miles was long distance to me. Got burnt on racing bikes, started doing some 5Ks then 10Ks, then a 1/2 marathon, then another. Now I’ve been doing both road and off road duathlons for a few years.
    I love riding my bike, I run when time is crunched and I want a good workout. Good luck with the new venture. Took me about 3 years to get to the point where I wasn’t super sore the day after every run.

  5. You like mountains, Aleister liked mountains….

    “I meant to tell mankind about a new state about which I could tell little or nothing, to teach them to tread a long and lonely path which might or might not lead thither, to bid them dare encounter all possible perils of nature unknown, to abandon all their settled manners of living and cut themselves off from their past and their environment, and to attempt a quixotic adventure with no resources beyond their native strength and sagacity. I had done it myself and found not only that the pearl of great price was worth far more than I possessed, but also that the very peril and privations of the quest were themselves my dearest memories. I was certain of this at least: that nothing in the world except this would be worth doing.”

    Living outside the comfort zone has always been my most cherished moments in life. You seem pretty good at that. Maintain the zone and step it up with an endeavor that is foreign. The clumsy feeling is one to adore, laugh with and learn hella from, eh?

    You gotta a good blog going on

Leave a Reply

