Zen On Dirt

Making the most of it

Leave a comment

Earlier this year, I got a jury summons in the mail that wanted me to report to court in Boulder in early February. I distinctly didn’t want to be in Boulder in February, so I deferred the summons. Of course, when the new summons came, my number came up to report. I think they do that to everyone who defers…

Either way, it resulted in a visit to Boulder with a plan to meet back up with Scott in Salt Lake City after I either got sent home from jury duty or served my time.

I was a little annoyed at first, after all, a drive from Moab to Boulder is circa five hours, then Boulder to SLC is eight. Civic duty? Blergh.

But I’m a firm believer that attitude is everything, and if I was going to have to do two traversals of the I-70 corridor and spend some time in Boulder, I was going to make the most of it.

Turns out, Boulder was great.

While my parents were out of town, my brother was still holding down the fort and watching the dog, and my brother is a pretty amazing cook. The benefits to being a pushy big sister – he cooks for me, even though he just broke his collar bone dirtjumping down at Valmont Bike Park.

I got to ride my dad’s townie around, it’s a cute little green single speed with road tires, sweep handlebars, and panniers and goes zoom down the 4th street hill. Going up the 4th street hill…well, there was some weaving going on, but I didn’t have to walk. It was close, though.

IMG_0796

With a free morning, Neven and I headed to Lucile’s for breakfast, a true Boulder breakfast institution.

IMG_0802

Then I headed west. First stop, Eagle, where Karen J gave me a GPS track for a run to do.

IMG_0798

I tend to agree

Then camping with Sarah in Carbondale under the shadow of Mt Sopris. We hatched up ski plans for next spring. There’s a part of me that misses sliding on snow…

IMG_1076

Sarah gave me a hand-drawn map in the morning with places to ride. A map that led to all sorts of treasures in the woods.

IMG_1081

The world needs more hand-drawn maps made with love.

IMG_1084

I spent the rest of the day at a coffee shop catching up on life before headed further west to my favorite camp spot in Rabbit Valley. It was the sight of the last night of a solo road trip many years ago which was a transformative life experience and an introduction to the beauty of solo travel.

With forecasted rain in the afternoon, I went running in the morning. Dumbly, I didn’t take water, thinking I’d go out for 30 minutes and flip it. How often does that ever happen? To summarize, I got thirsty, but found some cool, lost moto trails with amazing views.

IMG_0831

I pulled the ultimate mobile persons dream work situation by setting up the camp chair and working in the middle of Rabbit Valley until it started to rain. Moments like these make me feel really guilty whenever I complain about my job.

Then west. To SLC. To Scott.

By the end of it, I was pretty stoked to have gotten called for jury duty. I’d gotten to see my brother one more time before he shoved off to California, I got to see friends who I hadn’t seen in far too long, I ate good food, and I rode and ran in new places.

Annoyances as blessings in disguise. I’ll take it.

Leave a Reply

